9 Areas of Action

If you’ve read my blog entry about Resolutions and Actions, then this will make since to you.

I want to touch on the 9 Areas of Action a little bit. The 9 Areas of Action (or 9AoA) is my way of working on 9 areas of my life. The action part is the action I have spent time putting together to achieve my goals for the year.

I wanted to touch on this a bit, because this week I will be sharing some of those areas and what I want to do with my life this year. I want to share this for two reasons:

  1. To have a source of accountability
  2. To show later on in the year and at the end of next year where I am started and when I have ended.

However before I can share on those 9 areas in my life, I want to talk about those areas first. Perhaps you will get some ideas for your own life for this year.

The 9 Areas of our lives that I am referring to are:

  1. Spiritual
  2. Relationships/Marriage
  3. Family
  4. Business
  5. Financial
  6. Health and Fitness
  7. Personal Development
  8. Emotional
  9. Fun and Recreational

Each area, believe it or not, compliments each other. It doesn’t matter where you are at in life right now, you can work and build each of these areas as you feel the need to do. This isn’t like saying, “My resolution is to lose weight this year!”

This is taking it to whole other level. For instance let’s take the Personal Development area of life. This is a very important area, because it can and will affect the rest of your life and the rest of the areas of your life. How so? Well let’s look at how this can affect the other areas of your life.

Personal Development Affects:

Spiritually: you cannot have strong religious beliefs or be strong in your beliefs, if you are to busy doubting yourself. Doubting yourself, will make you question what you know is right in your heart. It will cause you to fall to the opinions of others who may not agree with your religious choices. You have to be confidant in yourself, to be confidant in your religious beliefs.

Relationships/Marriage: Whether you are dating, engaged, married or just working on your personal relationships with other people (friend, business, etc.), you cannot have successful relationships if you are not confidant in who you are. Confidence will allow you to handle rejections, objections, any issues that may arise with other people. It will allow you to conquer fears you may have in talking to others, in how you hold yourself and present yourself. Personal Development will help you with issues arise, so that you can address calmly. It will help you with building yourself worth, because we have to be feel worthy ourselves, before we can expect others to see us as worthy. When you have confidence and a sense of self-worth, you will lose pride and ego. You will be humble, while still being able to stand strong in yourself and your beliefs. Now having pride in yourself isn’t a bad thing, but it can be dangerous. It can cause us to allow us to be hurt, to fear, to feel less then worthy of love, to search out acceptance from others, when really we only need to accept ourselves.

Family: In order to have strong family relations, you have to have good relationship skills, which comes from knowing when to set healthy boundaries, be comfortable in who you are and who others are and their beliefs.

Business: In order to have strong business skills, whether as an owner or employee, you have to have good relationship skills, in order to have those, you have to be able to see yourself as a strong, confidant person. There is no need to be rude or to allow pride to get in the way. You can hold your head high, be confident and still be humble. A person rule by pride and ego, is a person who is quick to anger and cold to forgiveness, holding onto hurts and pain. While a person who is ruled by humbleness and confidence is a person who can remain calm and can forgive, letting go of hurts and pain.

So far I hope you can see how personal development links each one of these areas or is connected to each area of your life. I won’t go into the other areas, but I think if you sit down and really think about it, you will find that personal development is essential and key if we ever intend to make any positive changes in our lives.

So instead of just focusing on bettering our relationships or our talents or whatever else we might want to do this year, I think it’s best to work on all these areas of our lives. In doing so, we may find that we will achieve the things in our lives that we want and are more than worthy to obtain.

If we sit down for each area, write out the things we want to improve in our lives for those each others, then write out how we intend to do accomplish those things, we will find that achieving the change we seek, will become easy.

It’s not enough to say:

“I want to be more positive this year.”
What we should say is:

“I feel so amazing now that am more positive! I feel much more energized inside and out! That I am able to start being the best friend/wife/husband/mother/father/boss for my family!”

Then we need to write down how we intend to do that and it can look something like this:

  • I will read two new books a month on personal development, spending 30 minutes a day reading.
  • I will listen to 2 new audio or podcasts three times a week for 15 minutes.
  • I will only post positive things on my social media sites.
  • I will only read positive articles.
  • I will say every day three things I am thankful for in my life.

This is the best way to write out that statement. It makes it more real, it allows you to attract what it is you really want…and well you know what that is called right? The Law of Attraction!! Attract to you what you want for yourself, put out into the universe the energy that you wish you receive!

Then you read these every day, three times a day, more if you need to!! And you remind yourself exactly what it is you are working towards and for in your own life. Does it take work, yep. But if it’s worth having, it’s worth working hard for. Plus it allows you to be real with yourself. Maybe when you look back at the end of the year, you will see how much you have grown. It might be a huge leap, but you may notice that you have grown enough to notice a difference in your life. You may write out “goals” that have exact dates on them, but you may not make them by the date…maybe you don’t complete it, but if you look at the other 9 areas of your life and you have at least 3 for each area, then you may just see the growth you have made in all areas of your life and that right there makes it all worth it.

These are the 9 areas of life that we should work on and I have listed each one. Starting tomorrow, I will list my 9AoA individually. I will list here the things that I intend to work on and how I intend to do that, some of them I may leave out, for personal reasons, but the purpose isn’t to brag about what I am working on and what I intend to change.

The purpose is to create a sense of accountability for myself and to hopefully inspire YOU to do the same, by making myself vulnerable. I also plan to link each post in a new page on my blog, so that at the end of this year, I can post a new blog that will allow me and you to refer back to see where I have gotten and where I am still growing. Again not to brag, but to let you see how possible life is, if you really want it to be!

I encourage you to sit down and look at the 9 Areas of your life. You do not have to use this method, this is completely up to you. If you have a system that works for you, good, stick with it!! But if you are struggling over the years to see the change that you want for your life, if you are wanting a new and refreshing way to try and get the change you want for yourself, then what have you got to lose?

The best way to know is, look back over the years, has anything you have done gotten you where you wanted to be in the way of growth? Or do you find that you are not where you want to be and you know and feel you could be? If none of that is the case, then what do you have to lose by trying something new? Remember we are given tools to get around, over, under or through any obstacle that is in our way, they may not be the tools we want, but if we open our minds, we might find that they are the tools we need at that time in our lives.

Brightest Blessings to you and best wishes for your 2015!! May you reach the growth you want and may the changes you wish for happen!! For you all deserve so much in life and this is the year to make it happen!!

Leave a Reply

